Keyword

Sorry K2

• John Dunstan
  • John Dunstan's Avatar Topic Author
More
10 years 2 months ago - 10 years 2 months ago #125330 by John Dunstan
Sorry K2 was created by John Dunstan
Hello,

I write this post with a heavy heart...I have been using K2 for so so many years, and I have loved the component. I used it in every Joomla build I did for myself and my customers, and back in the Joomla 1.5 days, I even replaced the default Joomla articles with k2 items and used K2 for my info pages. K2 WAS the bomb back in the day!

When JoomlArt decided to drop K2 for EasyBlog, I personally protested and argued constantly, then I saw Gavick change to EasyBlog, and I protested again...I have been one of K2's biggest fan boys who has promoted K2 till I am blue in the face.

With that said, today I move to EasyBlog...I'll tell you why!

1) Joomla 3 does almost everything K2 does and it does it better and MUCH faster

2) If ALL a person wants is 1 blog (not team or multi blogging), then they don't need anything more than default Joomla articles and maybe disquss

3) The backend user interface is dated and doesnt look professional. K2 stayed with pretty much the same 'look' with its Joomla 3 implementation....This adds less professionalisim to our projects and it adds a different UI for customers to get accustomed to.

4) The front end user interface is horrible....if people want to use K2 for Team or Multi blogging, K2 simply is to much effort. Plus to get frontend editing actually working is to much of an effort...back when I started with K2, it took way to long to figure out how to get front end editing working...it should just be a check box, nothing more to enble front end editing...in fact, it should be enabled by default, especially with Joomla 3.