Keyword

New to K2: Featured Article Page

• James Rocks
  • James Rocks's Avatar Topic Author
More
8 years 3 weeks ago #153691 by James Rocks
New to K2: Featured Article Page was created by James Rocks
Hi,

I'm an aspiring author, new to K2 and relatively new to (or inexperienced in) Joomla but I do have a fair bit of experience in website management and used to build sites old school, in HTML. I am trying to build a site which I hope the readers of my books will find reasonably attractive which is why I chose Joomla. My web site is at www.jc-rocks.com and is based on the free version of JoomlaShine's "JSN Pixel" template with Kunena forum and a wiki (WikiMedia). I "chose" that template because it was the one used by the Build-A-Joomla-Website tutorials and because I rapidly discovered that half my stuff didn't work with templates from YooTheme. However I have hacked the default colours in the JSN Pixel template so it more closely matched the colours of my forum but my ultimate plan is to buy the full template or perhaps another one that is largely compatible from JSN.

I only heard about K2 a week or so ago but it seemed like something that would improve my website so I installed it ... I subsequently had to uninstall it and reinstall because I got so confused by it. I've been going through some tutorials on YouTube and had some difficulties getting the changes to work but I think (I think) I vaguely understand that now. I was able to import my categories and current articles (about 20 at present).

So now I am engaged in an exercise of changing my menus and stuff over to K2 and I've hit my first big problem. I can make a blog list feature articles from two or more categories but I can't seem to make a featured page work ... under Joomla (without K2) I would select a Menu Item type of Articles --> Featured Articles but I can't find an equivalent under K2.

Anyone any ideas?

Thx

Keke

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.