Keyword

Proper Menu Links for Front End Editing

• Chris Whitfield
  • Chris Whitfield's Avatar Topic Author
More
14 years 6 months ago #74099 by Chris Whitfield
Proper Menu Links for Front End Editing was created by Chris Whitfield
I know this isn't the first time this has been posted, but I wanted to throw my bit in as well. I use Community Builder on my site and I am sure many others use other social site components that have their own login module or even completely customized login modules of their own. For CB, I am able to create menu items quickly and easily for the Login/Logout and profiles etc inside of my own menus. For K2 on the other hand, I am forced to either use your module (which is painful to customize since I'm not a big coder) or to get into custom coding to extend K2. While that is all well and good, since that seems to be the spirit K2 was designed in, you still haven't published any API info and, lack of easy access to the menus goes against some of why Joomla exists in the first place. Please please please either add the K2 login module items as available in the standard menu system, or augment the K2 Login module so I can add custom links in there without having to custom code.

Fortunately, in the meantime, I got around the issue by using Rereplacer to duplicate your login module link as it appears in View Source in place of a place holder menu item that I created. I tried simply creating a link to the URL that maps to the Add Item link, but that makes it launch to a new page that doesn't close prperly. Instead, I duplicated the modal window bits as well so it shows up properly.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 6 months ago #74100 by Marco Elric
Replied by Marco Elric on topic Proper Menu Links for Front End Editing
"duplicating the modal window bits as well so it shows up properly. "

can you tell us how you do it? PLEASE.

• Chris Whitfield
  • Chris Whitfield's Avatar Topic Author
More