Keyword

Copyright and license for a plugin i made

• shoulders
  • shoulders's Avatar Topic Author
More
9 years 9 months ago - 9 years 9 months ago #129247 by shoulders
Hi,

I am new to making Joomla plugins and i am stuck. Now that i have made my new plugin i am unsure about the license.

Basically what can i fill in as me below in the plugin's xml file. Can i fill in that i am the author?, can i change the copyright to mine? should i leave the license as it is or can i change it if i need to?

I have used code i have written, i have used the k2 search plugin and other code from K2
  • <author>
  • <creationDate>
  • <copyright>Copyright (c) 2006 - 2014 JoomlaWorks Ltd. All rights reserved.</copyright>
  • <authorEmail>This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • <authorUrl>
  • <version>0.1.2</version>
  • <license>www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html GNU/GPL
  • <description>

Thanks

shoulders

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 9 months ago #129248 by JoomlaWorks
Replied by JoomlaWorks on topic Re: Copyright and license for a plugin i made
You can change the references to JoomlaWorks is your .xml file, but according to the GNU/GPL license, you must keep the copyright blocks inside the .php files.

Fotis / JoomlaWorks Support Team
---
Please search the forum before posting a new topic :)

• shoulders
More
9 years 9 months ago #129249 by shoulders
Replied by shoulders on topic Re: Copyright and license for a plugin i made
brilliant, a quick follow up:

I have used the k2 search.php for a starter so leaving the copyright block at the top is easy. What do i do when i have copied partial code from other K2 files or other places.
  • do i have to copy the code from the top of every file i have borrowed stuff from and paste it above each piece of code i have used?
  • can i just put a link to where i got the code from?